Quitting your job in a recession…genius

Mountains, islands, sealife, beautiful yachts, friendly co-workers, a great boss…these are just some of the things that welcomed me to work each day at San Juan Sailing, a charter company and sailing school servicing the amazing archapelago known as the San Juan Islands.  I lived in a euphoric little place called Bellingham, Washington in a house overlooking a lake with a large deck that hosted many a bbq with family and friends. My husband and I were even able to afford our rent. And then we quit. We quit in a recession. Now we live across the country from eveyone we know and love, and we spend our days in a small shoebox of an apartment that costs nearly twice what our big beautiful house on the lake did. It’s okay to judge, sometimes I think we’re complete morons too.

Danny, my husband, is smart. Really smart. And he got into Georgetown University for a Master’s of Science in Foreign Service. Georgetown is number 1 in the country for Grad progams in International Relations, and when the number 1 school takes you- you go. How can you tell Madeline Albright and George Tennent that while you appreciate the offer, you will not able to make it? So that is why in the midst of a recession, we quit our great jobs, packed up our perfect house, said goodbye to our best friends and loved ones, and moved from Washington state to Washington D.C.

I spend my days searching the internet, looking for signs of life in the economy. People keep telling me that D.C. is the best place to be right now, but with every ignored application I submit, I believe them a little less. Now the thing I really don’t get is why a company would advertise for openings and then completely ignore or blow off applicants? After submitting an application, I usually follow up with a phone call later in the week. This is how a typical follow-up call goes:

Girl at front desk: Hello, welcome to Schuman and Associates.

Me: Hello, my name is Kathryn. May I speak with Ms. Jackson please?

Girl at front desk: Does she know you?

Me: I applied for a writing and editing position that was advertised on Craigslist and I just wanted to follow up with her.

Girl at front desk: Uh-huh. Well, she’s in a meeting. All day. I’ll tell her you called.

Me: Would you like my phone number?

Girl at front desk: I’m sure she has it, but okay, whatever, go ahead.

Me: I can almost see you playing solitaire. You aren’t going to write anything down are you?

This is life right now. Oh the days of sailboats and friends….

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Quitting your job in a recession…genius

  1. Mom

    Yes, it does sound tough but you can’t see into the future. It is for the future that you made this move.
    You will have many good memories of your time in the shoe box. Dad and I do, our shoe box had 2 little children in it with us. Odd, I just realized I am living in another shoe box, we traded the city box for the country box 30+ years later.

  2. Tim

    Thank you for the laughs and the memories. We all miss the smiling faces of Danny and Kathryn around the office and on the docks.

  3. Kate – so TRUE! My husband just found a job and being jobless has been a blessing in that it made us not take jobs for granted!

    This is a great blog! 🙂 Good luck to you sweetness!

  4. Jaime

    Umm, I just stumbled upon your blog and WOW! I LOVE IT! You are so amazing Kathryn. I feel so much better now that I have a little glimpse into your life. Keep writing, it is addicting to read. Love you lots!

  5. kati.. i love that i’m not the only person struggling. You’d THINK that after a 1 1/2 hour interview they’d at least call me and say they chose somebody else. seriously….

Leave a Reply

